My first blog post!

I finally took the plunge and joined the world of blogging. Why? Well, I will get to that later. Hopefully I don’t lose you before I get to all that.

First things first though. Please allow me to introduce myself. My name is Kat and I am the sole entity that makes up KatTastic Krochet. That’s Kat-Tastic, like fantastic, but with a Kat at the beginning. I am a mom of 3 living in the wonderful Bay Area of California (that’s me up there, in my Canton Hat). My children are 7, 5, and 4 and crochet helps me stay sane. My oldest child is the reason I decided to learn how to crochet. I had dreams of making cute baby booties for my baby. Despite my desire to crochet, I didn’t really learn until after she was born and I only ever made her a single bootie. Just one bootie was all I managed, I tried to make the second one, I promise I did.

FB_IMG_1510214157692

The lone bootie

I won’t dwell too long on my learning stumbles. I will share that it involved a lot of books from the library (plus late fees), YouTube videos, and eventually a class at Joann Fabric and Craft Store. After that it was practice, practice, practice.

Now take a big leap to today and the reason for this blog. Friends and family told me I should try selling my work. I learned about Etsy and have a small shop there, I also started with Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook. I enjoy sharing all that I do, BUT (ok, here is the why part of the story) there is only so much that I can share about crochet on those platforms. Through my love of crochet I have learned a lot of tips, I have met a lot of great designers and hookers, I have made A LOT of mistakes, and I have created my own designs. This blog will be dedicated to sharing my Adventures in Crocheting.

Hopefully, I haven’t bored you or scared you away yet. Please stay tuned for more of my crochet adventures.

 

*Featured photo taken by the ever so talented Karen De Jager

 

Leave a comment